Irish Rat Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Fancy rats bred to be reptile food :(

+2
GillianK
bikerwitch
6 posters

Go down

Fancy rats bred to be reptile food :( Empty Fancy rats bred to be reptile food :(

Post by bikerwitch Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:22 pm

Hi All
i found this site accidentally on google and there is someone in Ireland who has bred rats for 'Pet shops' but pet shops were not buying their supply as people dont like rats (as they said )as soon as someone is willing to hand over cash. They were willing to sell to anyone, i found this very cruel as I would want to be a Breeder in the future but I would never do this. I am studying all about it and hopefully find a perfect male and female to breed a litter of lovely rats. If i am going to be a breeder in the future i will have strict rules in place in order to make sure that the Rats would have a perfect life Smile Smile
http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=111220
bikerwitch
bikerwitch

Back to top Go down

Fancy rats bred to be reptile food :( Empty Re: Fancy rats bred to be reptile food :(

Post by GillianK Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:58 pm

I do see where you're coming from, but although I love rats and hate any animal being killed for food (I'm vegetarian!) reptiles are carnivores and need to eat. If its done in a humane way, then I can't see the difficulty. However totally agree that rat lovers like ourselves are not going to want to produce rats only for them to be sold as feeders! (btw I'm not a rat breeder) So yes a thorough screening process would be a must.
GillianK
GillianK
Oldie
Oldie

Back to top Go down

Fancy rats bred to be reptile food :( Empty Re: Fancy rats bred to be reptile food :(

Post by bikerwitch Mon Jun 18, 2012 10:14 pm