Irish Rat Club
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Stove/open fire, and rat health/safety.

4 posters

Go down

Stove/open fire, and rat health/safety. Empty Stove/open fire, and rat health/safety.

Post by dakbie Wed Jan 16, 2013 1:34 am

Hello there everybody, Grin

I'm a newbie to the forum, and to rats in general. I won't have my rats for, I guess, another few months, and I'm trying to do as much research as possible before they come along. This forum has been a great source of information so far.

My conundrum is kind of two-fold. I'm planning on keeping the cage in my living room, as it's the cosiest, and that's where I'll be in the evenings. I have a stove in the room, and there's only so much I can do to keep ash dust out of the air. With rattie's sensitive respiratory systems, will this dust cause problems? Does anyone out there keep their rats in a room with an open fire? Has it had an ill affect? I assume, with their sharp intellect, it'll be easy enough to teach them that the stove is hot, and not a place to hide under, or climb on.

Any words of advice would be greatly appreciated.

dakbie

Back to top Go down

Stove/open fire, and rat health/safety. Empty Re: Stove/open fire, and rat health/safety.

Post by Zoundz Wed Jan 16, 2013 4:53 am

A good fire guard should solve the problem of them getting in/under/around - but I don't know about the ash etc, being honest with you. I would *think* it could be problematic - and if we've ever had to have ours in the house (in the lounge) we make sure there's no fire going.

xx
Zoundz
Zoundz
Administrator
Administrator

http://www.irishrats.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Stove/open fire, and rat health/safety. Empty Re: Stove/open fire, and rat health/safety.

Post by dakbie Wed Jan 16, 2013 7:56 am